With the institution of the Research Departments, the Ruhr University Bochum has an instrument at its disposal with which multidisciplinary questions can be addressed in an ideal way and with which colleagues from the Ruhr University environment can be involved in joint work.

Currently involved in the work of the Research Department are:

Faculty of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Prof. Dr. Annette Hafner, Resource-efficient construction
Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Höffer, Wind engineering and fluid mechanics
Prof. Dr. Peter Mark, Concrete Structures
Prof. Dr. Marc Wichern, Urban Water Management and Environmental Engineering

Faculty of Biology and Biotechnology
Prof. Dr. Thomas Happe, Photobiotechnology
Prof. Dr. Matthias Rögner, Biochemistry of plants

Faculty of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Prof. Dr. Ulf-Peter Apfel, Activation of small molecules
Prof. Dr. Martin Muhler, Industrial Chemistry
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schuhmann, Analytical Chemistry
Prof. Dr. Kristina Tschulik, Analytical Chemistry II

Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology
Prof. Dr. Constantinos Sourkounis, Energy System Technology and Power Mechatronics

Faculty of Geosciences
Prof. Dr. Jörg Renner, Experimental Geophysics
Prof. Dr. Harald Zepp, Physical Geography / Applied Physical Geography

Faculty of Law
Prof. Dr. Jörg Enuschat, Public law, in particular administrative law

Faculty of Mechanical Engineering
Prof. Dr. Valentin Bertsch, Energy Systems and Energy Economics
Dr. Philip Biessey, Sustainable Process Engineering
Prof. Dr. Rolf Bracke, Geothermal Energy Systems
Prof. Dr. Francesca di Mare, Thermal Turbomachinery and Aircraft Engines
Prof. Dr. Christian Doetsch, Cross Energy Systems
Prof. Dr. Marcus Grünewald, Fluid Process Engineering
Prof. Dr. Thomas Müller, Carbon Sources and Conversion
Prof. Dr. Marcus Petermann, Solid Process Engineering
Dr. Julia Riese, Dynamics and Flexibility in Process Engineering
Prof. Dr. Viktor Scherer, Energy Plants and Energy Process Technology
Dr. Martin Schiemann, Thermal Conversion of Solid Fuels
Dr. Nico Schneider, Doctoral School CCCE / Thermodynamics
Prof. Dr. Roland Span, Thermodynamics
Prof. Dr. Hermann-Josef Wagner, Energy Systems and Energy Economy
Prof. Dr. Eckhard Weidner, Process Engineering Transport Processes

Faculty of Philology
Prof. Dr. Sebastian Susteck, Modern German studies and didactics of literature
Dr. Manuel Mackasare, Modern German studies and didactics of literature

Faculty of Philosophy and Educational Science
Prof. Dr. Philipp Richter, Didactics of Philosophy and Pracital Philosophy
Prof. Dr. Klaus Steigleder, Applied Ethics

Faculty of Social Science
Prof. Dr. Rainer Eising, Comparative Political Science
Dr. Anna-Lena Schönauer, Sociology / General Sociology, Labour and Economy

Faculty of Economic Sciences
Prof. Dr. Johann-Christian Pielow, Economic Law / Institute for Mining and Energy Law
Prof. Dr. Michael Roos, Economics, in particular Macroeconomics

Further colleagues are involved in joint projects.

Contact persons

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Roland Span
Institute of Thermo- and Fluiddynamics
Faculty of Mechanical Engineering

Ruhr University Bochum
44780 Bochum
Phone +49 (0)234 / 32-23033
Room IC 3/127

Prof. Dr. Johann-Christian Pielow
Chair of Economic Law / Institute for
Mining and Energy Law
Faculty of Economic Sciences

Ruhr University Bochum
44780 Bochum
Phone +49 (0)234 / 32-25723
Room GD 02/267

Dr.-Ing. Julia Riese
Laboratory of Fluid Separations
Faculty of Mechanical Engineering

Ruhr-Universität Bochum
44780 Bochum
Phone +49 (0)234 / 32-25421
Room IC 3/113